top of page
Public Speaker

Douglas Murray prize

The Douglas Murray prize (£750) is awarded to the best presentation at the annual NPRAS meeting. A runner-up prize of £250 is also awarded.

Previous winners are shown at the bottom of the page

Douglas Murray

Douglas Murray, FRCS

Douglas Murray FRCS, Consultant plastic surgeon is past-president of the British Association of Plastic Surgeons and former chairman of the Intercollegiate Speciality Board in Plastic Surgery. He had a great interest the career development and training of plastic surgeons from the UK and overseas. 

The Douglas Murray Prize is awarded in recognition of his commitment to plastic surgery training with the aim of encouraging trainees to progress the speciality of plastic surgery whilst developing their own career aspirations.

The Douglas Murray prize is awarded to the best presentation at the annual NPRAS meeting.

Trainees are invited to submit an abstract of no more than 250 words on any topic relating to plastic, reconstructive or aesthetic surgery.

Douglas Murray Prize winner 2017


Hugh Wright

Hugh Wright, a trainee from the Oxford region won the 2017 prize for his presentation, "Cooling of burns inhibits activation of the complement and coagulation cascades- a potential therapeutic target?”.

Hugh is shown receiving his prize from Douglas Murrary.

Hugh's work was undertaken at the Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine, Oxford


Abstract information for authors

Please complete the submission form below. 


The language of the meeting is English.

Abstracts must not exceed 250 words.

It is recommended that the following headings are used when submitting abstracts

  • Introduction and Aims

  • Materials and Methods

  • Key results

  • Conclusions

Enter the text of the abstract in the box below

When you click the submit button your abstract will be sent to the event coordinator. You will also be redirected to an external site where you can register for the NPRAS meeting and make your payment if required. 

If you also wish to apply for the Mercian Travelling Award - please follow the link

NPRAS abstract submission

Please complete the form below and submit your abstract via the link.

Thanks for submitting!

Past winners of the Douglas Murray Prize

  • 2017 - Hugh Wright - “Cooling of burns inhibits activation of the complement and coagulation cascades- a potential therapeutic target?” - Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine, Oxford

  • 2016 - Hazim Sadideen - "Distributed Simulation in Burns and Plastic Surgery:  "The Burns Suite" as a Unique Training Model for Technical  and Non-Technical Skills"

  • 2015 - Ciara Deall - "Refining a facial aesthetic outcome tool for scoring cleft surgery; human and computer based assessments" - Birmingham Children’s Hospital

  • 2014 - Suzanne Murphy - “Skin sparing debridement of necrotising fascitis” - Addenbrookes Hospital, Cambridge

  • 2013 - Vikram Sharma - “Improved diagnostic outcomes in craniofacial surgery by use of next generation DNA sequencing - John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford

  • 2012 - Yasemin Tavsanoglu - “Collagenase treatment of Dupuytren’s contracture; our experience, clinical outcomes and patient satisfaction” - Queen Victoria Hospital, East Grinstead

  • 2011 - Richard Thomson - “Thermal imaging in assessment of burn depth - revisited with new high resolution technology” - Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Birmingham

  • 2010 - Joseph Ward - “Functional and aesthetic outcomes following surgery for non-syndromic sagittal synostosis - an analysis of a six year cohort of 51 patients” - Birmingham Children’s Hospital

  • 2009 - Jonathan Pleat - “Scarring and depth of injury - human population study” - Stoke Mandeville Hospital, Aylesbury

  • 2008 - Evangelia Vlachou - “Prospective, randomised, controlled trial using Hartmann’s solution and 6% hydroxyethylstarch (HES) for fluid resuscitation following major burn injury”- Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Birmingham

  • 2007 - Woan Yi Chan - “An assessment and feedback method of clinical microsurgery competence”

  • 2006 - Lorraine Harry - “Comparison of muscle and fasciocutaneous tissue on the healing of open tibial fractures - Charing Cross Hospital, London

  • 2005 - Michael Schenker - “Will transferred toes become fingers? Physiological force coordination after toe-to-hand transfer in children with congenital absence of digits - St James’ Hospital, Leeds

  • 2004 - Michael Reid - “Sprayed, cultured, autologous keratinocytes used alone and in combination with meshed autografts” - Queen Victoria Hospital, East Grinstead

bottom of page